Skip to main content.

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Website Search Box
staff at work

The staff of the Department of Entomology is comprised of research scientists, museum specialists and technicians employed by the Smithsonian Institution as well as those employed by "affiliated" agencies including the USDA Systematic Entomology Laboratory, the Walter Reed Biosystematics Unit (DOD) and the Institute of Arthropodology and Parasitology at Georgia Southern University.

All combined, the Entomology staff numbers about 80 full-time permanent employees and about 30 resident research associates, postdoctoral and predoctoral fellows, students, and volunteers.

Staff in residence at NMNH are listed below. Click on names to enter SI staff pages, click on USDA logo to enter the SEL web site.

Department Chair: Sean Brady
Secretary:   Juanita Hall
Acting Collections Manager: Floyd Shockley
Collections Information Manager: Patricia Gentili-Poole

SI Research Entomologists
Sean Brady Hymenoptera (and GGI Leader)
Jonathan A. Coddington Arachnida & Myriapoda (and GGI Leader)
Torsten Dikow Diptera
Terry L. Erwin Coleoptera
Robert K. Robbins Lepidoptera
Ted Schultz Hymenoptera
  Hannah Wood Arachnida & Myriapoda
Pre- and Post-Doctoral Fellows
Bonnie Blaimer SI Postdoctoral Fellow
Gabi Camacho Peter Buck Predoctoral Fellow
Bernice DeMarco SI Postdoctoral Fellow
Ana Jesovnik SI Predoctoral Fellow
Fred Larabee Peter Buck Postdoctoral Fellow
Emeritus & Other Research Entomologists
John M. Burns Lepidoptera (emeritus)
Donald R. Davis Lepidoptera (emeritus)
Dave Furth Coleoptera (retired)
Scott E. Miller Lepidoptera (and SI Senior Executive)
Oliver S. Flint, Jr.  Neuropteroids (emeritus)
Wayne Mathis Diptera (emeritus)
F. Christian Thompson Diptera (emeritus)
SI Technical Staff:  
Karie Darrow Visual Information Specialist
      Dana DeRoche Arachnida & Myriapoda
Debbie Feher Museum Registration Systems Coordinator
Brian Harris   Lepidoptera & Hymenoptera
Don Harvey Lepidoptera
Gary Hevel Public Information Officer (emeritus)
Erin Kolski Diptera & Neuroptera
Mike Lloyd Molecular Laboratory Technician
Vichai Malikul Scientific Illustrator
Charyn Micheli Coleoptera
Cindy Murphy Lancaster Data Manager
Eugenia Okonski Hymenoptera
Dave Pollock Lepidoptera
Margaret Rosati Lepidoptera
Desmond Smith Collections management
Young Sohn Scientific Illustrator

Systematic Entomology Lab LogoUSDA Systematic Entomology Laboratory Staff in Residence at NMNH

Research and Service Scientists
John W. Brown Lepidoptera (retired)
Matthew L. Buffington Hymenoptera
Lourdes Chamorro Coleoptera
Raymond J. Gagne Diptera (retired)
Michael W. Gates Hymenoptera (& Location Leader)
Paul Goldstein Lepidoptera
Thomas J. Henry Hemiptera (& Unit Leader) 
Alexander Konstantinov Coleoptera
Robert Kula Hymenoptera
Stuart H. McKamey Homoptera
Mark A. Metz Lepidoptera
Allen L. Norrbom Diptera (& Unit Leader)
David R. Smith Hymenoptera (retired)
M. Alma Solis Lepidoptera
Support Scientists and Technical Staff
Dave Adamski Entomologist: Lepidoptera
Elaine B. Jamison Computer Assistant
Taina Litwak Scientific Illustrator
Benjamin Proshek Museum Specialist: Hymenoptera
Elisabeth P. Roberts Museum Specialist: Coleoptera
Lucrecia H. Rodriguez Museum Specialist: Diptera


[ TOP ]